Natasha Watts Album

Click Image to Enlarge

Title: Natasha Watts
Reviewed by:
Natasha Watts / Album
SedSoul / March 2014
UK Singer, songwriter, performer and entertainer, Natasha Watts reveals her stunning self titled debut album for SedSoul. Showcasing Natasha’s impeccable songwriting and performance skills, this gem of a debut boasts a crossection of Soulful Bossa to 80’s fused R&B and classic Soulful grooves, laced with heartfelt sweet melodies, down to the nitty gritty lyrics and silky smooth tones. Drawing from her own life experiences ‘Natasha Watts’ is a rich musical tapestry of honesty, empathy, sensuality, determination, love, feminity and compassion – encompassing all that is womanly.
My inspiration behind this album was, and always will be, the original driving force behind me …my Mother, who sadly passed away 6 years ago. But because of the last conversations we had, I found a motivation to achieve all the things I wanted to do … it took 6 years for me to get here, but I made it!.. Dream… Believe… Achieve!” – Natasha Watts
Also adding their production magic to the album are Modern Soul giants, Frank Ryle & Rob Hardt, aka Cool Million.. All the singles released from the album so far including ‘Born A Star’, and ‘Go Slow’ have made the UK Soulcharts Top Ten, with current single ‘Change’ hitting the no.1 spot. Also topping off a great 2013, Natasha won The best New Soul act award from Soulsurvivors Magazine, as voted for by the soulful masses, a clear indication of how much this Soul Sista is loved – For once you can believe the hype!
Natasha Watts hails from humble origins, which helped furnish the soul and the mahogany tones of this unique vocalist, Natasha has been immersed, active and successful in the music industry for some time and is quite possibly one of the hardest working girls on the music scene, Performing arts were her first passion, training inballet/tap/jazz dance and singing never became a priority until she discovered she had a powerful voice that defied her tender age. Her father was a DJ and Natasha was surrounded by all genres from Reggae and Jazz to Blues and Funk. At sixteen, Roame Lowrey (percussionist with Maze and Frankie Beverley), took Natasha across the Atlantic to nurture and develop her talent as a young recording artist. Whilst in the States she worked in a stage musical and performed with Kirk Franklyn and the Family, discovering a love for Gospel and organic R&B. Fast forward and In 2006, Natasha fronted the funk outfit Funkshone, producing the album, ‘Shining’ before Natasha made the move to go it alone. Having always credited her mother Sandra as her inspiration and woman who moulded Natasha’s soul and direction, when she passesd away, through this heart-breaking period, Natasha wrote life affirming single, ‘Time to Shine’. – Still a favourite due to the deeply personal resonance behind it. Natasha then exploded on to the UK soul scene with ‘Show Me’ after her first collaboration with Cool Million, which was rapidly followed up with the Summer smash of 2012 ‘Back 2 U’ with producer Ric Atari.
Natasha is in demand more than ever for her vocal talents and vivacious stage presence. She’s worked with Josh Milan, Papa Records, Reel People, Bugz In The Attic’s Kaidi Tathum, Speedometer, Purple Music, Nervous, Barcoda, Yam Who? and many more. There have also been gigs at huge events around the world, including IPM, Amalfi Conference, Moscow, Croatia and Miami WMC, not to mention all the various international Soul festivals she has now graced, including Blackpool Soul and Southport Weekender, among many others. She has also supported the legendary Betty Wright at various gigs all over the country. There are also future collaborations in house music with some of the biggest names including Dj Spen, Terry hunter. Distant People, Manoo, Kerri Chandler, Black Coffee and Tony Humphries Music as well as Rhemi. She has recently released a duet with Lifford Shillingford with COF and has just released the mighty ‘Respect’ with Mark Evans and Michelle Weeks for Purple Music. Natasha’s musical journey has resulted in only what can be described as an evocative musical journal, something she describes as “deeply personal, resonant and cathartic and it’s been in the making for some time now”. It appears that time has come and the album is tipped to fly!
01 Born A Star
02 Change
03 Go Slow
04 Stars
05 Good Love
06 Hold Up
07 Worth
08 So Done
09 Skywards
10 Leare
11 Tonite
12 Shine
‘Natasha Watts’ will be released Worldwide on March 1st 2014 on SedSoul
For more information on Natasha Watts visit