Dimitri From Paris goes Back In The House for Defected

The latest instalment in Defected’s long-running mix series will be on sale from August 28th 2012, and comes from an unarguable don of all things sexy and disco orientated. What’s more, with tunes taken from four decades, listening to the finished product is something of a history lesson.

Which isn’t to say the soundtrack is outmoded, more to accentuate that this is a fine collection of era-spanning work, wherein new school names such as Soul Clap sit next to house originator Marshall Jefferson, with the likes of Maceo Plex, KC Flightt, Tiger & Woods, Playgroup, and Sebastien Tellier also turning in appearances. The two disco package offers two different sides to the coin, with the funkier A Night At The Horse & Groom, London preceding the punchier A Night At Dim’s Mansion, Paris. Full tracklist is below, more details available on the end of this link, whilst those interested in the gentleman DJ’s thoughts on this project will be interested to read the very next paragraph.

“When there’s not much money left, there is still love. We’re all free to put love into what we do and in the case of music, love can be care and effort. Thirty years ago I wanted to be a DJ to share the music I loved and by means of this compilation it is still what I do today.From the music selection to the artwork, there are details in here that you may not see at first glance that hopefully will make you enjoy this music package for a longer while.

“Do trust that I made this for you as I would have for myself” he finishes. “May it stay by your side for a long time.”

Various Artists / Dimitri From Paris Back In The House (Defected) 

 CD1: A Night at the Horse & Groom, London (Live Recording)

01. Soul Clap featuring Franceska ‘Take It Slow’
02. Poolside ‘Do You Believe’
03. Kaine featuring Kathy Diamond ‘Love Saves The Day’ (Mario Basanov’s Vocal Remake)
04. Pitchben ‘Stand Up’ (Tiger & Woods Remix)
05. Miguel Campbell ‘Kiss & Tell’
06. Wagon Cookin feat Odille Lima ‘Feels So Good’ (Longer Edit)
07. Storm Queen ‘Look Right Through’ (Dimitri From Paris Erodiscomix)
08. Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca ‘Pretty Baby’ (Original Full Length)
09. The Magician featuring Jeppe ‘I Don’t Know What To Do’ (Original Club Mix) 10. DJ T. featuring Cari Golden ‘City Life’ (Maceo Plex Remix)
11. Faze Action ‘I Wanna Dancer’ (Old School House Mix)
12. Storm Queen ‘It Goes On’ (Vox)
13. Fury ‘Pain’
14. Maceo Plex ‘Can’t Leave You’
15. Playgroup featuring KC Flightt ‘Front 2 Back’ (Kenny Dope Old Skool Remix) 16. Deux ‘Party People’ (Original Mix)
17. Jonas Rathsman ‘Tobago’
18. Volta Bureau ‘Alley Cat’ (Original Mix)
19. Elz & Elise ‘Soul Power’ (MKTL Master Kev & Tony Loreto Club Mix)

CD2: A Night at Dim’s Mansion, Paris

01. The KDMS ‘Tonight’ (Morgan Geist Remix) 02. WebQueawry ‘Searching’ (Mam Remix) 03. Mercury ‘Rio’
04. Mercury ‘Sweetness’
05. Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca featuring Tim Benton ‘Domino Dancing’ (DJ Rocca Club Remix)
06. Holy Ghost! ‘It’s Not Over’ (Dimitri From Paris Erodiscomix)
07. Mauvais Cliché ‘Stop Watching Me’ (Extended Mix)
08. Loaded Dice ‘Warm’
09. Marshall Jefferson featuring Curtis McClain ‘The House Music Anthem’ (Move Your Body) (Terry Hunter Lower Wacker House Mix)
10. Kikumoto Allstars ‘House Music’ (Original)
11. KC Flightt ‘Let’s Get Jazzy’ (Dope Dub Mix)
12. Mr. V featuring Carlos Mena & Pablo Fierro ‘Fire La Loca’
13. Moullinex ‘Sunflare’ (Moullinex Club Mix)
14. Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca ‘Ero Disco Theme’
15. El Freakadell ‘I Got You’ (Original Disco Version)
16. Tyson ‘After You’re Gone’ (Dimitri From Paris Remix)
17. Sébastien Tellier ‘Cochon Ville’ (Dimitri From Paris Erodiscomix)
18. Tommie Sunshine & Midnight Magic ‘I Found Love’ (Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca
19. Dan Hartman ‘Relight My Fire’ (Dimitri From Paris Remix)