Andrew Weatherall creates Masterpiece for Ministry of Sound

Innovator, boundary pusher, shape-shifter, and damn good DJ to see- whether’s he’s grinding out techno or digging into deeper, slower sounds. As such we’re thrilled he’s just announced a new triple disc album for the country’s biggest indie label.

Andrew Weatherall should need no introduction. We’re big fans of his work though and so are only too happy to make a few quick comments. There was Screamadelica, Primal Scream’s seminal (never bettered) album, which he produced in 1991. Then he also helped conceive the Sabres of Paradise and Two Lone Swordsmen projects, and has worked with artists from Bjork to The Horrors. A diverse output that spans three decades and positions him as a true musical maverick, rather than just another electronic head, it’s no surprise comparisons have been made with the late, great John Peel.

On May 14th Ministry of Sound releases Masterpiece Created By Andrew Weatherall, the latest instalment of a series that has already featured the likes of Gilles Peterson and Francois K. On it you can find cuts and remixes by the man himself (aplenty), alongside names like Walls, Kasper Bjorke, Toddla T, Todd Terje, Scott Fraser and Sons & Daughters. Sounds pretty damn delectable to us, as the full tracklist below proves beyond doubt. One for the must buy list then.

Various Artists / Masterpiece Created By Andrew Weatherall

1. The Asphodells – A Love From Outer Space

2. Grinderman – Heathen Child (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

3. Timothy J.Fairplay – Sleighride (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

4. The Asphodells – Lost Cities

5. Hardway Brothers – Mania’s Theme (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

6. Kalidasa – Burstin Through

7. Craig Batley – Birdshell

8. Apiento – The Orange Place

9. Chida – Danca

10. The Horrors – Wild Eyed (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

11. Wooden Shjips – Crossing (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

12. Walls – Into Our Midst

13. Timothy J.Fairplay – The Final Reel (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

14. Scott Fraser – A Life Of Silence

15. Mario Vierra – Cosmic Matter

16. Kasper Bjorke – Man From Venice

17. Bonar Bradberry – You Were Away (Space Ranger Hypno Mix)

18. Rudy’s Midnight Machine – Ecstatic Love Machine

19. Midnight Savari – Phantom Galaction

20. Tornado Wallace – Insect Overlords

21. Sons And Daughters – Orion (Emperor Machine Remix)

22. Cut Copy – Sun Gold (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

23. Bogdan Irkuk a.k.a. Bulgari – My Weakness (Prins Thomas Discomiks)

24. Copyshop – Lipps (Pete Herbert Dub)

25. Pacific Horizons – Stealing The Fire From Heaven

26. The Subs – Decontrol (Aquarius Heaven Remix)

27. Black Light Smoke – Switchback

28. Soft Rocks – Magic Mikk

29. Martin Brodin – Badabing (Diskjokker Remix)

30. Ajello – Crystal Babe’

31. Name In Lights – Ur Oskunni

32. Brioski – Radio Anatomy (Emperor Machine Remix)

33. Toddla T – Watch Me Dance (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

34. Todd Terje – Ragyshe

35. Primal Scream – Uptown (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

36. A.R. Kane – A Love From Outer Space