Robert Hood readies Omega Alive for June, and Sonar date

Buzzing… Sorry, do we need to say much more?

His LP of last year was based on the classic sci-fi movie Omega Man, but didn’t really sound like it. Well, it did have an intro talking about humanity being destroyed and one person struggling against whatever dangers would be left on an unfamiliar Earth. Which is the plot of the film, in a nutshell. But on the whole it was really a storming collection of techno from a guy that’s forgotten more about futurism than most of his peers could hope to ever know, remaining universally respected as a true pioneer and living legend.

So we were delighted to hear Robert Hood will be releasing a live CD, Omega Alive, based on the show he has created to complement last year’s album. The disc drops on June 20th, via his own M-Plant imprint, and will feature tracks we’re familiar with from the cinematic collection, and some we’re not, such as Minimal, Minimal, along with remixes from the likes of James Ruskin. He’s also playing dates in Asia and Australia, with Europe planned for summer so watch this space for news on the UK. Meanwhile, those heading out to Sonar this time round can catch the launch party for all this there- check the foot of the page for details.



1 Bells At Dusk

2 Run

3 Alpha: Alive

4 Omega: Alive

5 Minimal, Minimal

6 Who Taught You Math?: Alive

7 Unix: Alive

8 Side Effect: Alive

9 Minus: Alive


10 Alpha – James Ruskin Remix (from M.PM11)

11 The Family (from M.PM11)

12 Atomic (unreleased)


Omega: Alive’ album launch party @ Nitsa

Sonar; Barcelona; 16 June

Robert Hood (‘Omega:Alive’ album launch)

RadioNasty (Radioactive Man & Billy Nasty back2back)

Lee J Malcolm (‘Folded Spaces’ album launch)

Oliver Way