No Regular Play ‘Serious Heat EP’

No Regular Play / ‘Serious Heat EP’

Vinyl / MP3

No 19 Music / Released December 21st

If we were to start by telling you that Greg Paulus and Nick DeBruyn, a.k.a No Regular Play, and Shaun Reeves (here a remixer) can all be linked to Wolf + Lamb then it should give some idea as to what this release sounds like. It’s a bit arty, a little plodding, but exceptionally well put together.

The A-side stands out where you’d think it could be forgettable, entering the fray with nothing more than a classic deep house-cum-disco strut, before funk filtered vocals get things feeling a little more freaky. Soon enough the breakdown drops, and classic, though here muted, horns pick up the mantle of hook and melody. Before long it sounds a little like Prince is being cut up in a thoroughly addictive style.

In contrast Walkin is more about distortion and plucked rhythms, making an interesting little number that’s all about the looming bassline and start of the set atmospherics. That said, it does benefit once Reeves gets his hands on the product, as he moulds something that’s a whole lot techier, moodier and dancefloor focused from the original foundations. All that remains to say is that when you throw in Art Department’s reworking of Serious Heat– a veritable fairground ride of organ scales and bumper car beats- this is one package that should certainly excite fans of sleek, smooth and sultry vibes no end.